6:30–7:30pm / Oct 5 / Segal Theatre

How Did You Make That?

Ariana Smart Truman, Tommy Kriegsmann

Photo courtesy of the artists

A moderated discussion between prominent makers in our field. Audience members are encouraged to come with questions! How did you make that show, that venue, that movement? The more practical the question, the better.

Moderated by Ryan J. Haddad

Ariana Smart Truman has worked with Elevator Repair Service since 2006; as the Producing Director she produces all the company’s work, including Measure for Measure, currently at The Public Theater.  She has collaborated with many of downtown’s finest performing artists, ensembles and institutions including Mike Iveson, Yehuda Duenyas, Collapsable Giraffe, Radiohole, The Wooster Group, HERE Arts Center and Soho Rep. For ART/NY she teaches workshops on touring theater, and in 1996 with Kate Valk she co-founded The Wooster Group’s Summer Institute, a free performance workshop for NYC youth.

Thomas O. Kriegsmann is Founder and President of ArKtype, a management and production company specializing in new work development and touring. Upcoming premieres include Sam Green & Kronos Quartet’s A THOUSAND THOUGHTS, Bryce Dessner’s MAPPLETHORPE PROJECT, The Freedom Theatre of Palestine’s THE SIEGE, Nora Chipaumire’s #PUNK 100%POP *NIGGA, 600 HIGHWAYMEN’s DEATH OF A SALESMAN, Kaneza Schaal & Christopher Myers’ CARTOGRAPHY I, and Jessica Blank & Erik Jensen’s HOW TO BE A ROCK CRITIC.

Ryan J. Haddad is an actor, writer, and autobiographical performer. His acclaimed solo play Hi, Are You Single? was most recently featured in The Public Theater’s Under the Radar Festival. He has performed original work at La MaMa E.T.C., Dixon Place, and The New Museum. His acting credits include The Maids and two Lucy Thurber world premieres at Williamstown Theatre Festival, “Noor and Hadi Go To Hogwarts” for Theater Breaking Through Barriers, and an appearance on the Netflix series “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt.” Ryan was a member of the The Public Theater’s 2016-17 Devised Theater Working Group.

Skip to toolbar